RSS

So, sew

16 Feb

I like the idea of sewing, but I’ve always found the reality to be absolutely maddening. I hate having to rip out seams, which I have to do all the time. I have to modify nearly every pattern, because I am 2 inches shorter and much narrower in the hip than the size models. And sometimes the pattern instructions seem so obtuse they make me want to cry. Sometimes, I do cry. Often there is also swearing. And then, after hours of laborious labor, the fruits of my self-inflicted torture are revealed…and they are hideous! More tears, promises to never to do this again, throwing the un-hemmed thing into the donation pile. Until once again I am lured in by a beautiful fabric that I must have…

This has been my personal history with sewing. But imbued with a strange optimism from my recent sweater successes, I decided I would no longer stand for this state of affairs. I will become functional, nay, good, at sewing! I know the secret now and it is practice! The saying is so trite that it’s like its inherent truth is obscured by the cliche. But I feel like I’ve had a mini-enlightenment here. I will just keep soldiering along, and if I make something hideous I will be philosophical about it. Now I know not to try that again!

And so over the long weekend, I made three skirts. None of them are perfect, and one is of the “don’t bother to finish hemming, this is so awful” variety. But two turned out okay, even wearable. I had a revelation about zippers (a previous bane), and didn’t even mind ripping out the same seams two times because I kept sewing it the wrong way round.

I got this grey wool from the thrift store for $1.99, and had the lining in my stash. I used McCall’s Quick & Easy M3341. I added a waistband instead of the facing, and added lining. The pattern worked really well for me, since it is more A-line, and didn’t require crazy hip adjustments.

Check out that lining.

This is the fabric I got at Britex. It’s reversible, although one side is more green and the other more purple so you need to assign a “right” side. I went with green this time. There’s enough left that I will make another skirt with the purple side once I get better. I used Burda 7576, switching the slit from the front to the back. The hips were huge on me (I basically sheared off the entire hip curve, and that worked), and I had to fudge the seam allowances near the waist because that area was a little tight. The skirt is wearable, but I’m not a fan of this pattern.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2010 in sewing

 

Tags:

3 responses to “So, sew

  1. elena

    February 24, 2010 at 11:21 am

    Lookin good Yaya! You’re inspiring me with this blog. But I’m still working up the courage to do something myself. Hmmm.

    Score on that fabric!

     
  2. pancha

    February 24, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    Just start the blog and don’t tell anyone until you have something you think is worth showing. It’s fun to track your progress, and eventually you’ll have enough content to “go public.”

     
  3. Elena

    March 26, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    Yea, I think that sounds good.

     

Leave a Reply

 
