RSS

March II

14 Mar

I loved the idea of the 1930’s 3 hour sweater too much to concede defeat, so I made another in Berroco Comfort Chunky. I love the Berroco Comfort line of yarns. The name is not a lie.

For this version, I did a solid neckline, but did a staggered rib rather than a straight rib (ie, two rows of k2 p2, then two rows of p2 k2). I started this one before the Acero sweater but ran out of yarn and had to wait to get more, so it feels a little like backtracking in terms of torso length. But some steaming did help.

Pros:

  1. Love the yarn! Not at all scratchy.
  2. This color (dried plum) is much more my taste than the green.

Cons:

  1. Still not perfect in the torso length. Grr.
  2. I have to wear a cami underneath or my bra shows.

Conclusion: I like it! I wore it to work pre-steam, felt a little self-conscious, and kept tugging to pull the hem down. But now it fits much better.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2010 in knitting

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “March II

  1. Elena

    March 26, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    Yea, this color is nice and neutral. I like the pattern/texture at the top. Forgive my non-knitter question but what did the steaming do?

     
    • pancha

      March 26, 2010 at 4:15 pm

      Steaming “softens” the yarn, which lets you stretch it out. So by ironing with the steam setting and pulling, I got the torso a little longer.

       
      • Elena

        April 7, 2010 at 6:45 pm

        Oh wow, that’s the opposite of what I would have expected.

         

Leave a Reply

 
