RSS

Cookie Party

14 Dec

This is pretty late, I know. Partly because I got distracted by the holidays and partly because we still don’t have internet in the new apartment.

When I was younger, I knew I would be an adult when I was invited to the cookie party. Every year my mom would bake a mega-batch of some delicious cookie, disappear for a few hours, and return laden with a marvelous melange of treats. My sister and I had our favorites, which we put dibs on as quickly as possible. I looked forward to the cookie party every year, even though I wasn’t allowed to attend until I was in college.

This year, in accordance with the sweater project, I decided that I would knit a sweater to accompany my cookies. I chose the Perfect Christmas sweater and remarkably remembered to buy the yarn in time to finish it. Yay! I forgot to take any pictures at the party, but pictures were taken of me. I’ll post some if I even track them down. In the meantime, here’s me on New Year’s.

Kona Club, New Year's Eve 2010.

I’ve been enamored of beverage-themed cookies for the last three cookies parties: eggnog, then hot chocolate, and now champurrado. Champurrado, for those not in the know, is a Mexican hot drink made with masa and flavored with chocolate and cinnamon. It’s a variation on the traditional Aztecan atole drinks, and is very warming and very filling. The cookies were a huge hit, at least between me and my sister. I don’t think my friends liked them very much, but it’s recently become clear to me that there are certain textures in Mexican sweets that are harder to appreciate if you didn’t grow up with them. Anyway, these are now on my list of holiday favorites.

Galletas de Champurrado

3/4 cups unflavored Crisco
3/4 cups sugar
2 eggs
splash of vanilla
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/2 cup masa harina
1/2 teaspoon salt
1-2 tablesoons cinnamon (fresh ground if you can manage)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Sift together flour, cocoa powder, masa, salt and cinnamon. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together the Crisco and sugar. Add eggs and vanilla and mix well. Gradually add the flour mixture until combined. The dough can be a little stiff.

Drop dough by the tablespoon on a greased cookie sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes. OR get fancier and roll the dough in sugar.

Makes about 2 dozen.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 14, 2010 in cooking, food, knitting

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Cookie Party

Leave a Reply

 
