RSS

Thrift Finds: 9/1011 and 9/17/11

21 Sep

Two weekends ago, I went to my friends Jesse and Fernon’s housewarming, where I ate far too many gerkins. But before that I hit Thrift Town and Savers. I wasn’t feeling as leisurely as usual, since I had the party to get to. But I still managed to snag some nice things.

Long black skirt, houndstooth pencil skirt

The black skirt is an ankle-length, linen-like a-line with pockets and belt loops. It feels very early Audrey Hepburn. The pencil skirt is a black (possibly navy?) and white houndstooth, also with pockets! From Thrift Town.

basket weave purse

Basket weave purse bag

rooster detail on purse

Check out the little rooster thingy on the top of the purse

It’s a little big for an everyday purse, but it’s got a leather interior and some pockets.

Green peasant top

It has a vaguely peacock feather pattern and pin tucks at the waist

The insert shows the pin tucks, and gives a better idea of the real color. I’m so-so on this shirt. I like the details, but I’m not sold on the cut. It doesn’t like to stay tucked in to my trousers either. Found at Savers.

El mundo de los mayas

What I understood was quite interesting

Also found at Savers, El mundo de los mayas by Victor W. von Hagen (in Spanish). Nice illustrations, and while some of the vocabulary is beyond me, the writing itself isn’t hard to understand.

Skip ahead a week to last weekend, when I had commitments both evenings, which made me feel like my entire weekend was already gone by Friday. Once the weekend actually showed up I managed to get a lot done, despite my feelings of social panic. I swung by Thrift Town looking for a skirt for belly dancing and instead found these.

Yellow pleated skirt and powder blue linen pencil skirt

I really must work up the energy to take better pictures

The yellow skirt is pleated and hits mid-calf, and I really want to wear it but am having trouble finding a shirt that looks good with it. It’s so bright that it almost defies pairing with a neutral. I think once the weather gets cold again my magenta sweater might look nice with it. Retinas, beware! The blue skirt has cute button details at the waist and pockets. It’s a Brooks Brothers, made of 100% Irish Linen.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 21, 2011 in thrift finds

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
