RSS

Cookie Party 2011

18 Dec

It’s cookie exchange season! I wanted to make another Christmas sweater this year, and while I started in good time, I got a little off track. First, I knit the sweater way too large. Luckily that let me figure out how many stitches to reduce by for the second attempt. Then I got side tracked by knitting a hat to replace the one I thought I lost. The hat was just hiding in the back seat of the car, which was a good thing because I didn’t like any of the hats I made. But by the time I refocused on the sweater, I only had a few days left before the party. Could I finish it in time?! Would the weather be too warm for a wool sweater anyway, rendering my hard work moot?! Yes and no, in that order.

My new Christmas sweater

Taken at work. One day I will put up the color chart.

And now for part three in my beverage cookie series (#1 Eggnog, #2 Hot Chocolate, #3 Champurrado):

Horchata Chewies

Horchata Chewies, or Inverted Snickerdoodles

Horchata Cookies
makes about 4 dozen

1 cup sweet rice flower
1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1 cup butter, soft
1 1/2 cup sugar
1 egg

Whisk together the flours, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon. Set aside.

Cream together the butter and sugar. Add the egg and mix well. Add the dry ingredients in two batches.

Roll the cookies into 1/2 inch balls and place 1 inch apart on a greased cookie sheet. Bake at 375 degrees F for 8-10 minutes. I found 9 minutes to be the perfect time. Let cool for about 30 seconds before removing from the cookie tray or the cookie will be too soft to transfer easily. But don’t leave the cookie on the sheet too long, or it will continue to spread out and loose it’s nice dome. Cool on racks.

They taste vaguely like horchata, but not as strongly as I’d like. I think it’s because the flavor of the butter is fairly dominant. But they still taste good, like a different type of snickerdoodle.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 18, 2011 in cooking, food, knitting

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
