RSS

Dinner 2/10/13: Butternut Squash and Potato Casserole

15 Feb

A few weeks ago I tried to make savory butternut squash pancakes, and they were a tasty disaster. So this was my attempt to get the same flavor in a neater and less time consuming package.

image

Not very colorful. Next time I might add some parsley to jazz up the visuals.

1 onion, chopped
3 cups butternut squash, cubed
2 cups potatoes, cubed
4 eggs
1/2 cup liquid (water, broth, milk, unsweetened non-dairy milk. Pick your poison)
1/2 cup flour
salt, pepper, cumin, chili powder, cayenne to taste
1 cup rice (optional, but reduce the liquid if you leave it out)
bread crumbs (optional)

Preheat the oven to 425.

Saute the onion in a deep pan until translucent. I used habanero olive oil to give it a nice kick. Then add the squash and potatoes, lower the heat to medium, and cook covered (stirring occasionally) for 15 minutes.

When the squash mixture is cooked, add the rice if you want. This is a good way to use up leftovers. I use a 50/50 blend of white short grain and the Trader Joe’s brown rice mix with radish seeds. Put the mixture in an oiled casserole dish.

Now mix the flour and spices in a small bowl. Whisk the eggs together with the liquid of your choice (I just used water). Slowly add the flour mixture, whisking together until you have a thin batter. Some lumps are okay. Pour over the squash mixture. Top with bread crumbs if you like. I used crushed pita chips.

Bake for 30-40 minutes. It turned out really well, although not quite the same flavor I enjoyed in the ruined pancakes. I kept the cheese out so my sister could eat it, but if you like cheese I recommend adding some to the batter or sprinkling it on top. And while it’s not dry at all, it rather calls out for sauce. I went for Cholula and Ketchup.

image

Sometime’s I’m gross.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 15, 2013 in cooking, food

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
