RSS

Dinner 2/13/13: Oatmeal Soup

20 Feb

I first had oatmeal soup at my friend Shaenon’s house, on a night when I wasn’t feeling that great. It made for a very comforting dinner, and I like to make my version on nights when I’m feeling a bit droopy. There’s very little prep, and it cooks quickly too. And it makes a lot, so there’s leftovers for lunch and dinner the next day.

You'd never know there was oatmeal in there...

I like to top it with parmesan cheese, as I do with most thigns.

1 onion, chopped
3 cups chopped cabbage (this is about 1 small head, or 1/2 of a larger head)
2 cups cubed potatoes (I like to use the little ones, and just cut them in half)
1 cup sliced carrots
(turnips, parsnips and/or celery are all good optional additions)
2-3 bay leaves
1 12-oz can tomato sauce or crushed tomatoes
1/2 cup steel cut oatmeal (NOT rolled oats. I was low on oatmeal this time, but you can add up to 1 cup if you want a thicker soup. Just be sure to stir occasionally to keep the oatmeal from sticking to the pot)
juice of one lemon
salt and pepper to taste

Saute the onion in olive oil until translucent. Add the bay leaves and heat for a few moments to release the oils.
Add the tomato sauce and 4-6 cups water or broth, then all the vegetables. Cook for 15 minutes.
Add the oatmeal and cook for another 20 minutes. Stir in the lemon juice and season with salt and pepper to taste.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 20, 2013 in cooking, food

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Dinner 2/13/13: Oatmeal Soup

  1. health advocation

    February 20, 2013 at 12:28 pm

    Sounds like such a healthy and hearty recipe, I must try this 🙂 soup is great for these cold days!

     

Leave a Reply

 
