RSS

Jeanette

20 Feb

After my triumph with the new Girl Friday sweater, I went back to the Demla coat that I started in the fall, which was languishing in my knitting pile over the holidays while I focused on gifts and holiday sweaters. I was actually farther along than I thought, and had completed both fronts pieces and most of one back piece. But after finishing the first front piece and knitting the second back piece and one of the facings, I really needed a break. There isn’t much shaping in this coat, and it gets boring.

I decided to make a short sleeved raglan pullover. Not only would it add another needed top to my wardrobe, but it would knit up quickly and give me a rush of accomplishment. At first I thought I’d use up the rest of the Kertzer yarn that I used for my Must Have Cardigan, but it’s turned out to be a difficult color for me to style and I don’t think it would look well as a top. Luckily for me, I had some light blue Plymouth Jeannee yarn tucked away in my stash.

[jeannee yarn]

I made up the pattern on the fly, going for a 1930s sportswear look. It think it’s mostly a success, but there is maybe 1/2 an inch too much ease, which is often a problem for me. The top looks cute belted, but I haven’t found a skirt to wear it with unbelted, and it is a little too thick to tuck in. All in all, it was a successful experiment that makes me want to knit a few more short sleeved tops.

It looks really dumpy on this hanger, and kind of dumpy on me unless it's belted.

It looks really dumpy on this hanger, and kind of dumpy on me unless it’s belted.

The space between the raglan shaping at the neck is just calling out for a brooch, don’t you think?

Maybe there is something in the mail to fill this void?

Maybe there is something in the mail to fill this void?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 20, 2013 in knitting

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Jeanette

Leave a Reply

 
