RSS

Dinner 2/24/13: Quick Lentils

01 Mar

This weekend I took an Intermediate Dreamweaver class at BAVC on Saturday and Sunday. I learned a lot and can’t wait to have the free time to mess around with redesigning my site. But it also meant I had to wake up much early than I ever care to, much less on a weekend. So by the time Sunday night rolled around and I dragged myself through the front door, I was exhausted. And we didn’t have much in the way of ready food. I could have made a hummus wrap, but I wanted something hot after my cold walk home from BART (and the hummus we had was…kind of gross). So I fell back on this tried and true recipe. It’s really easy to put together, and cooks up in 20-30 minutes while you do other things (like collapse on the sofa).

Red Lentils

Veggies + tomato sauce + spice + something else = dinner!

Quick Lentils

  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • optional other diced veggies like carrots, celery, turnips, butternut squash etc
  • 1-3 tablespoons bere bere spice mix (I use the mix from Rainbow Grocery) or any other spice blend like curry powder or ras el hanout
  • 1 cup red lentils (very important if you want it to cook fast! Other lentils will work, but take longer)
  • 1 can tomato sauce or puree or crushed tomatoes
  • 4-6 cups water (depending on how soupy you want it)
  • salt to taste

Heat oil in a pot, then add onions and cook until translucent. Add any other veggies you want, making sure the pieces are small enough to cook through quickly. Add the lentils and the spices, stirring to coat everything. Add the tomato sauce and water.

Cover and bring to a simmer or low boil for 20-30 minutes, or until all the veggies are cooked and the liquid has reduced as much as you want. Stir occasionally towards the end as the mixture gets thicker so it doesn’t burn to the bottom of your pot. Add salt to taste and serve over rice and topped with shredded cheese (if you like).

Lentils!

It also has the added benefit of making your house smell delicious

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 1, 2013 in cooking, food

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
