RSS

Brooch Collection: The Novelties

13 Mar

These are my novelty brooches.

cherry enamel brooch

Quintessential or cliche?

I got this one at a vintage fashion expo. It was near the holidays, and I really wanted on of the Christmas trees, but they were all way out of my price range. The red of the cherries almost perfectly matches a pair of paten leather sandals I have, and I look forward to the coming warm weather so I can wear the combo again.

"Mother of pearl" fish brooch

Swim away!

This poor fishy looks like it has something terrifying chasing after it. My dad gave this to me for my birthday two years ago. It’s shell and enamel.

red and blue mice brooches

Red mouse, blue mouse…

I got these cuties at a thrift store during a Labor Day sale a few years ago. The are made from leather and wire, and are about the size of a nickel.

white mouse brooch

Do you think it’s lonely?

Here’s the white mouse, which has a permanent home on the lapel of my wool plaid jacket.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 13, 2013 in thrift finds, vintage finds

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
