RSS

Dinner 3/25/13: Hummus Rolls

27 Mar

I had planned to make spicy fennel sauce for dinner, but I was just too tired when I got home, so I turned to one of my lazy night stand bys: Hummus rolls. I did have enough energy to make a quick cabbage slaw for the filling, but I also regularly just use chopped veggies un-marinated.

hummus roll

Deep in the shadows lurks…the hummus!

Quick Cabbage Slaw

! cup chopped red cabbage
3-4 baby turnips
1/2 cup julienned carrots
salt
rice vinegar
pepper
spices (I used dried mint and sumac powder, but dill or oregano would also be nice. Use the spices that are in your favorite salad dressing if in doubt.)
1 lavosh or pita (use lettuce leaves or cabbage leaves for an easy gluten-free version)
hummus
lettuce leaves

Toss the chopped veggies together. Add salt, vinegar, and spices. Let sit at 10 minutes or so the veggies can marinate. There will be enough left to make rolls for lunch or dinner the next day, and the slaw gets better with time. Or you could eat the rest of it as a side salad. (I made rolls to bring for lunch on Tuesday, but then forgot them in the morning rush. I was so sad. )

Spread wrap evenly with hummus (don’t skimp, but don’t put so much that it will ooze out of the wrap when you try to eat it). Lay lettuce leaves on top of the hummus layer and fill with some of the slaw. Roll and enjoy!

Layout guide for hummus rolls. If you are using a dressed filling, it is wise to use lettuce leaves as a moisture barrier.

Layout guide for hummus rolls. If you are using a dressed filling, it is wise to use lettuce leaves as a moisture barrier.

Other veggies I enjoy in these wraps include watermelon radishes, leftover roasted squash, avocado, tomato, spinach, cialntro etc. Basically whatever I have in the fridge that requires minimum prepping. If I don’t bother to make a slaw, I sometimes sprinkle herbs directly in to the roll, but sometimes I don’t even bother with that, especially if the hummus is already flavored.

hummus rolls slaw filling

Close up on the slaw.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 27, 2013 in cooking, food

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
