RSS

Hummus Potato Salad

06 May

Three of my friends have birthdays in May with a week of each other, so they threw a big potluck BBQ tiki Magic: The Gathering party this weekend to celebrate.

I got the idea for this potato salad when I was eating artichokes. I don’t like mayonaise, so I always dip my artichokes in hummus. And that got me to thinking about mayonaise in potato salad, and how I can’t use yogurt as the substitute now that my sister is vegan and wouldn’t hummus be delicious in potato salad?

Yes, yes it is. There were no leftovers.

Hummus Portato Salad

Hummus Potato Salad

About 1 pound small potatoes, boiled and cooled
About 1/2 cup of your favorite hummus (I used Sabra classic)
About 3 tablespoons stone ground mustard
About 1/2 cup of tiny grape tomatoes
About 1/4 cup chopped dill pickle
About 1/2 cup pickled celery
pepper

The day before I chopped 4 stalks of celery and put them in a small bowl with a 2:1 ratio of rice wine vinegar and water and about 1/2 tablespoon of salt and put it in the refrigerator. You can add dill seeds, dried dill, or fresh dill to fancy things up, or skip this step entirely if you’re short on time. I also boiled the potatoes and put them in the fridge once they’d cooled.

The morning of, I cubed the potatoes and put them in a big mixing bowl. I added enough hummus to coat the potatoes. Add more or less depending on how you like the consistency of your potato salad. Then I added stoneground mustard, chopped pickle, and pickled celery (drained, no juice), tomatoes and pepper.

Transfer to serving bowl and chill in the fridge at least an hour before serving. Yum!

Hummus Portato Salad

And here is a picture of the wildflower explosion in the backyard where the party was held. Isn’t it wonderful?

Backyard Meadow

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 6, 2013 in cooking, food

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
