RSS

Dinner 6/8/13: Curried Vegetables

12 Jun

Our valiant rice cooker finally died, so I went into the city to get a new one on Clement Street at Kamei Restaurant Supply. They have a wide range of rice cookers, from super expensive fancy robot cookers all the way to super cheap no frills ones (which is what I got). While I was there I went to New May Wah, a Chinese grocery store a block away. It was my favorite grocery when I lived in the city and it’s fun to revisit it when I’m in the neighborhood. They have a really great selection of asian greens, like fresh amaranth leaves. Today I grabbed a cauliflower, some sumer squash, some green beans, cilantro and green onions. My plan is to portion them out into three dishes, which will hopefully get us through the week (with leftovers for lunch).

Here’s the first meal, Curried Vegetables. I was tired when I got home from the city and wanted something quick and easy. Plus I know I have to use up the cilantro quickly, because it will spoil fast. And I got to test out the new rice cooker!

Curried veggies over rice

You can use any veggies you want.

Curried Vegetables

oil
1 onion, diced
curry powder to taste (start with 1 tablespoon)
1 can pureed tomato
1/2 head of cauliflower, cut into florets
2 yellow summer squash, cubed
1-2 cups green beans, in 1/2 pieces
1/8-1/4 cup coconut milk
1 cup chopped cilantro
2 green onions, sliced
salt to taste

In a pot, saute the onions in oil (I used habanero olive oil for spice). Add the curry powder, stirring well. Add the tomato sauce plus 1/2 can of water.

Add the cauliflower, then a few minutes later add the squash, then a few minutes later add the beans.

When the veggies are as well cooked as you like, add the coconut milk and salt. Turn off the heat and stir in the cilantro and green onions. Serve over rice.

If you’re not sure what to do with the rest of the coconut milk, consider a tapioca pudding! Recipe coming soon!

Also, you can use any veggies you want. Just add them to the pot longest-cooking first.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 12, 2013 in cooking, food

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
